21 Tanglin Students Receive NYAA Gold Award

21 Tanglin Students Receive NYAA Gold Award
21 Tanglin Students Receive NYAA Gold Award

On Friday, 4 October, the 2019 National Youth Achievement Award (NYAA) Gold Award Presentation Ceremony was held in Singapore at the ITE Headquarters.

We are delighted that 21 Class of 2019 graduates achieved the award. Three Tanglin students were able to attend the ceremony, receiving their awards which were presented by President Halimah Yacob and Ms Indranee Rajah, Minister, Prime Minister's office and Second Minister for Education and Second Minister for Finance.

The NYAA programme consists of three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. It is open to all young people aged 13-30 years and aims to develop personal qualities of self-reliance, perseverance, and a sense of responsibility to themselves and to society. To qualify for the NYAA Gold Award, a participant is required to complete a balanced programme of non-competitive activities under four areas (Service, Skill, Physical Recreation and Adventurous Journey) over a minimum period of 18 months, or 12 months if they have already achieved Silver. They also do a compulsory Residential Community Service Project.

Congratulations to the following former Tanglin students on their outstanding achievements and for their contribution to society:

Aboli Datey

Alastair Choo

Andrew Lawson

Deanna Kotecha

Emma Henderson

Emma Andrick

Estella Manser

Fiona Gauson

Gemma Heber Percy

Hannah Coughlan

Holly Le Grice

Katherine Severn

Liu Jiatong

Maximilian Mann

Meghan Togher

Rosie Wood

Sasha Jamieson

Shaylan Rao

Smrithi Sriram

Soh Lin Min

Tia O'Neill

Mr Allan Forbes, Head of Senior School said: "This is a record-breaking year and the result demonstrates the huge amount of hard work and commitment of students, staff and parents over the past two years."